One of many ways yogis gauge whether they are “in the flow” energetically is by examination of the chakras. The chakras are energetic centers or vortexes throughout our being, which govern and reflect our homeostasis. Are your chakras in balance? If your chakras are in harmony, you can consider that you are in the flow. If your energy is out of whack, the online JWM yoga classes will help you rebalance your system with postures, breathing exercises and meditations.

There are seven main chakras that govern our energy. Below is a synopsis of certain personality qualities that correspond with each chakra. Answer the questions regarding each chakra to ask whether that chakra is in balance. When you become aware of which of chakras are stable and which are not, you can gear your yoga practice and life towards establishing complete harmony in all of them.


1. Muladahara Chakra

Location: Pelvic Floor


Qualities of imbalance include laziness, inertia, self-centeredness, instability and domination by one’s physical desire.

Reflected by family relationships, finances and home.

Are you in conflict with your family? Are your finances unstable? Are you comfortable with where and how you live?


2. Svadhisthana Chakra

Location: Lower Abdominal Center


Qualities of imbalance include anger, hatred, jealousy, cruelty, desire and pride, lethargy, fear, doubt, envy, revenge and greed.

Reflected by ability to make decisions, libido, and romantic relationships.

Do you have a hard time making decisions? Are you hyper or hypo sexual? Are you happy in your romantic relationship?


3. Manipura Chakra

Location: Navel Center


Controls vitality and controls our energy balance to strengthen and consolidate our health.

Qualities of imbalance include clouded thinking, naiveté, arrogance, and lack of self-esteem, irritability and righteousness.

Are you aggressive, close-minded or impulsive? Do you have digestive disorders, circulatory disease, diabetes or fluctuations in blood pressure?


4. Anahata Chakra

Location: Heart Center


Qualities of imbalance include confused emotions, insensitivity or lack of compassion, jealousy, sadness and despair

Are you sympathetic and empathetic? Do you listen to and help others or are you hurtful?


5. Vishuddhi Chakra

Location: Throat

Element=Space or Ether

Qualities of imbalance include inability to communicate clearly or with balance, anxiety, lack of freedom, restriction, preoccupation with thoughts, often those that are harmful.

Do you speak in a voice that is soft or loud, aggressive or retiring in tone? Do your words express what you mean to say clearly? Is your mind constantly chattering? Do you have swallowing problems, speech impediments, thyroid issues or throat problems?


6. Ajna Chakra

Location: Third Eye
Element: None

Qualities of imbalance include the diminishing of one’s power of contemplation and discrimination resulting in confusion of the mind.

Are you in control of your thoughts or do they control you?


7. Sahasrara Chakra

Location: Crown Of Head

Qualities of imbalance include exhaustion, chronic stress, physical pain and discomfort, depression, psychological instability.

Are you unable to recuperate mentally and physically? Are you in control of hunger and thirst, your physical and mental health? Do you feel vitality and youthful?

Click here to subscribe for only $10/month to the online JWM yoga classes! The classes are for all levels- Level 1 is for you if you are a beginner or intermediate.  Level 2 is for you if you are intermediate or advance. The Specialty level is for everyone and provides classes for back, neck and shoulder pain, high blood pressure and stress reduction, hips, travel and work. The videos teach 30-minute classes as well as each poses in individual modules. The database contains dozens of extra classes that range from 2minutes to 1 hour.